Best answer: Why is Auckland not the capital of New Zealand?

Auckland was the second capital from 1841 until 1865, when Parliament was permanently moved to Wellington after an argument that persisted for a decade. As the members of parliament could not agree on the location of a more central capital, Wellington was decided on by three Australian commissioners.

Why is Wellington the capital of New Zealand and not Auckland?

Wellington became New Zealand’s capital in 1865, with Parliament officially sitting in the city for the first time on 26 July 1865. … A panel of Australian-based commissioners later designated Wellington the seat of government due to its favourable geography, sheltered harbour and central location.

Why did they change the capital of NZ?

The capital moved from Auckland to more centrally located Wellington on the recommendation of a specially appointed Australian commission. The former Wellington Provincial Council chamber became the new home for Parliament. The location of New Zealand’s Parliament had been a matter of debate for some years.

Was Auckland the capital of New Zealand?

New Zealand has had three capital cities – first Okiato (Old Russell) in the Bay of Islands from 1840, then a year later, Auckland, and finally Wellington.

THIS IS FUN:  Can I drive diesel in Norway?

When did Auckland become the capital of New Zealand?

New Zealand’s first Governor, William Hobson, established Auckland as the colony’s capital in 1841 on land offered by Ngāti Whātua. Although the capital was shifted to Wellington in 1865, Auckland remained a major gateway to New Zealand, and grew into a prosperous port city.

What’s the capital city of New Zealand?

Новая Зеландия/Столицы
Искать: What’s the capital city of New Zealand?