What are the five regions of Denmark?

Denmark divided into the five regions: Capital Region of Denmark, Region Zealand, Region of Southern Denmark, Central Denmark Region, Region of Northern Denmark.

What are the major regions in Denmark?

List of regions

Danish name (literal translation) Self-appellation in English1 Population2 (2021-01-01)
Region Midtjylland (“Mid Jutland Region”) Central Denmark Region 1,332,048
Region Nordjylland (“North Jutland Region”) North Denmark Region 590,439
Region Sjælland (“Region Zealand”) Region Zealand 838,840

How many regions are there in Denmark?

The five regions of Denmark differ in relation to their physical geography, areas and populations.

What region is Denmark?

Along with Norway and Sweden, Denmark is a part of the northern European region known as Scandinavia.

Is Denmark divided into provinces?

From 2007, Denmark was divided into 5 regions and 99 municipalities (including Christiansø). For statistical purposes, the 5 regions are further divided into 11 provinces. The geographical breakdown of regions, provinces and municipalities is consistent with the Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS).

What region is Copenhagen in?


Copenhagen København
Country Denmark
Region Capital
Municipalities Copenhagen Dragør Frederiksberg Tårnby
THIS IS FUN:  Quick Answer: What is parenting like in Denmark?

How many Counties does Denmark have?

The Counties of Denmark (1970 – 2006)

In 1970 the Counties of Denmark were reorganized into 15 Counties.

What are Counties called in Denmark?

The Counties of Denmark (Danish: Danmarks amter) were former subdivisions of metropolitan Denmark and overseas territories, used primarily for administrative regions, with each county having its own council with substantial powers.

How many state are there in Denmark?

List of cities in Denmark

# City Population 2010
1 Copenhagena 528,208
2 Aarhus 242.914
3 Odense 166,305
4 Aalborgb 102,312

What is Denmark called in Danish?

The etymology of the name Denmark (Danish: Danmark), and especially the relationship between Danes and Denmark and the unifying of Denmark as a single kingdom, is a subject which attracts some debate.

How many islands are there in Denmark?

Denmark consists of the peninsula of Jutland and 1.419 islands, 443 of which have been named and of which 78 are inhabited (2013).

Are Danes from Denmark?

Danes (Danish: danskere, pronounced [ˈtænskɐɐ]) are a North Germanic ethnic group native to Denmark and a modern nation identified with the country of Denmark.

What is the capital of Denmark?

Copenhagen, Danish København, capital and largest city of Denmark. It is located on the islands of Zealand (Sjælland) and Amager, at the southern end of The Sound (Øresund).

What region of Europe is Denmark in?

The Northern and Western Europe region includes economies from Northern Europe (Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom), and Western Europe (Austria, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland).

Is Greenland part of Denmark?

Home to 56,000 people, Greenland has its own extensive local government, but it is also part of the Realm of Denmark. Despite the distance between Greenland and Denmark – about 3532 km between their capitals – Greenland has been associated with Denmark politically and culturally for a millennium.

THIS IS FUN:  Why do Swedish companies end in AB?