You asked: What seas does Norway border?

Norway is a country in Northern Europe occupying the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula as well as the volcanic island Jan Mayen and the Arctic archipelago of Svalbard. Norway borders the North Sea, the North Atlantic Ocean, Finland, Sweden, and Russia.

What is Norway bordered by?

Norway is a long country located in Northern Europe – with borders to Sweden, Finland and Russia on the east side, and an extensive coastline facing the North Atlantic Ocean on the west side.

Is Norway on the Arctic Ocean?

It is connected to the Pacific Ocean by the Bering Strait and to the Atlantic Ocean through the Greenland Sea and Labrador Sea. Countries bordering the Arctic Ocean are Russia, Norway, Iceland, Greenland (territory of the Kingdom of Denmark), Canada and the United States.

What do Norwegians call the North Sea?

The North Sea (historically also known as the German Ocean) is a part of the Atlantic Ocean, located between Norway and Denmark in the east, Scotland and England in the west, and Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium and France in the south.

THIS IS FUN:  Who played for Denmark when they won the Euros?

What peninsula is Norway in?

Norway, country of northern Europe that occupies the western half of the Scandinavian peninsula.

What countries border the Barents Sea?

The Barents Sea borders the Norwegian and Greenland Sea in the west, the Arctic Sea in the north and the Kara Sea in the east. The Barents Sea is divided between Russia and Norway as defined by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

Where is the Norway sea?

Covering an area of 1,383,000 km2, the Norwegian Sea is a marginal sea of the Arctic Ocean located in Northern Europe. The Norwegian Sea is situated along the northwestern part of Norway between the Greenland Sea and the North Sea.

Which sea is west of Norway?

With the Barents Sea to the north, the Norwegian Sea and the North Sea to the west, and Skagerrak (Skager Strait) to the south, Norway has land borders only to the east—with Sweden, Finland, and Russia.

Is the Norwegian Sea a freshwater or saltwater?

The Norwegian Sea Has…Fresh Water…and The Atlantic Ocean Has Even More | Science 2.0. The salty ocean is the last place you’d expect to find fresh water but a remote-controlled vehicle deployed from the research vessel G.O. Sars found, collected and measured just that during a Norwegian Sea expedition in 2017.

Is Norway on the Baltic Sea?

The countries that have shorelines along the Baltic Sea: Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Finland, Germany, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, and Sweden. … The countries on the historical British trade route through the Baltic Sea, i.e. including the Scandinavian Peninsula (Sweden and Norway).

THIS IS FUN:  How do you say 4 in Norwegian?

Is Kattegat part of the Baltic Sea?

Due to the very heavy sea traffic and many large coastal settlements, the Kattegat has been designated as a Sulphur Emission Control Area as part of the Baltic Sea since 2006.

What are the seven seas of the world?

The Seven Seas include the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern oceans. The exact origin of the phrase ‘Seven Seas’ is uncertain, although there are references in ancient literature that date back thousands of years.

What Sea is between England and Norway?

The North Sea is the sea between Norway, Scotland, England, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany and Denmark.

What is the deepest sea in the world?

The Mariana Trench, in the Pacific Ocean, is the deepest location on Earth.